Online Now 752

Gamecocks finalize 2013 roster

Just hours before first pitch of the 2013 season, the South Carolina baseball roster has been set. There is a new face and one player who was on the roster a year ago will redshirt this season, but there aren’t many surprises.

Outfielder Ahmad Christian is on the roster this season after being left off a year ago

Junior Josh Knab will make his first appearance on the active roster in his second year in the program. The right-hander had to sit out last season and take a redshirt year when he did not have enough credit hours to be eligible at a Division I program after transferring from USC Sumter.

Now academically eligible, Knab brings his plus-fastball to the active roster with two years of eligibility left in his South Carolina career.

Senior Hunter Privette, after making the roster last season, will not be on the 35-man this year. The sidewinder does have a redshirt year available and will have another year of eligibility remaining in 2014.
Privette made 15 appearances a season ago and posted a 1.86 earned run average to go along with a 1-0 record. He struck out 14 hitters and allowed nine hits and two walks in 9.2 innings pitched. He struck out nine but also hit three batters.

Each player who did not make the 35-man roster has a redshirt year available. Aside from Privette, each player who did not make the final roster is in his first year in the program.

Football players Ahmad Christian and Shon Carson made the 35-man roster. Spring practice begins the week of March 4 and it is still to be determined if either player participates and just how much. Kwinton Smith did not make the baseball team this season and will participate fully in spring practice.

South Carolina begins its season on Friday at 3 p.m. against Liberty. Fans are encouraged to be in the stadium approximately 2:30 p.m. for a special ceremony to honor former head coach and current athletics director Ray Tanner.

Baseball roster - 2013

No. 3 Tanner English
No. 4 Connor Bright
No. 5 Patrick Harrington
No. 6 Joel Seddon
No. 7 Shon Carson
No. 8 TJ Costen
No. 9 Joey Pankake
No. 10 Drake Thomason
No. 11 Sean Sullivan
No. 13 Jack Wynkoop
No. 14 Evan Beal
No. 15 Nolan Belcher
No. 16 Chase Vergason
No. 18 Dante Rosenberg
No. 19 DC Arendas
No. 20 LB Dantzler
No. 21 Grayson Greiner
No. 22 Max Schrock
No. 23 Vince Fiori
No. 24 Brison Celek
No. 25 Adam Westmoreland
No. 26 Graham Saiko
No. 27 Forrest Koumas
No. 28 George Iskenderian
No. 30 Erik Payne
No. 33 Kyle Martin
No. 34 Jordan Montgomery
No. 35 Curt Britt
No. 37 Josh Knab
No. 38 Tyler Webb
No. 39 Patrick Sullivan
No. 42 Ahmad Christian
No. 43 Alex Satterfield
No. 44 Colby Holmes
No. 46 Tyler Jackson


No. 31 Ray Murphy
No. 32 Zack Smith
No. 36 Hunter Privette
No. 40 Austin Hill
No. 45 Kwinton Smith
No. 47 Weber Pike
No. 48 Ryan Ripken
No. 49 Cameron Tewksbury
No. 50 Anthony Paulsen
No. 51 Kris Nelson

Already have an account? Sign In