In partnership with CBSSports.com
Online Now 635
Online now 616 Record: 9625 (10/8/2011)
The place for Gamecock talk, news and information
The place for Gamecock football and recruiting talk, plus off-topic subjects.
The place for Gamecock basketball talk, news and information
The ultimate online destination for the latest scoop on Carolina's national power baseball program.
Everything from Gamecock Insider Tony Morrell, in case you missed it.
The place to read all past editions of Spurnotes
The best of the best
Buy and sell your Gamecock tickets here.
Feedback for TBS and 247Sports.
You have no favorite boards.
The most viewed topics.
The most replied to topics.
The most up-voted topics.
The most down-voted topics.
The most up-voted posters.
The most down-voted posters.
The most followed posters.
David Duval hasn't won a tournament since the 2001 Open Championship.
Because Duval is a choke artist.
Elliott "Small" Fry
Correct, he did make a mistake. But not one that required a DQ. The scorecard error is the fault of the Masters officials.
Edit: I think I had your post confused with another posters. So I thought you were the DQ guy.
This post was edited by MrNiceGuy 12 months ago
You sound like a baseball apologist saying that steroids doesn't help you hit a baseball.
Fact is, they make you stronger and recover faster from exertion. Being stronger makes the ball go farther. Recovering from a day or three days of a tournament would lead to a fresher player.
You are fooling yourself if you think they wouldn't be of assistance to a golfer or pretty much any athlete, really.
Not saying he was on PED or not. But they would help.
Pretty naive to think you can diagnose steroids use from your tv just because conventional wisdom has settled on extreme cynicism.
I don't know if he used or didn't. He could have, but I sure cannot tell from my sofa. Neither can you.
when a ball goes into a pond I consider it "rested."
The rule for which you are speaking is to protect players when they did not know or were not aware of a rule. For Tiger not to know the rule about his illegal drop, he is either very stupid for a PGA tour player or a liar. I'll let you pick which.
I said I don't think roids helped him win, and I don't know why he used them, but I'm pretty positive he did.
Ally will beat the crap out of Uga.
I agree with the scorecard error being the fault of the Master's Rules Committee. However, back to my assertion that "as near as possible is vague".....I ask you this....without TV and the constant scrutiny that Tiger is under unlike most of the rest of the field would we even know where exactly he hit from? I know Tiger was able to determine he dropped two yards back as he admitted in his interview, however, I still feel the reason the committee did not feel he was wrong in the first place is due to the fact that they felt the two yards was within the "as near as possible". My personal feeling is it should be within a club length of the original shot so as to avoid having the ball roll or bounce back into the original divot.
You don't understand the rule then because two yards isn't as near as possible and your personal feeling about its fairness affect the rules. The "near as possible" means drop the ball in the exact spot where you hit your last shot or the spot where you thought you hit it. The rule beig vague had NOTHING to do with him not being DQ'ed.
247Sports In partnership with CBS Sports